Leaving The Past

leave the past

Do you ever find yourself clinging to the past? Have you ever wished you could forget what happened and move on with your life?

I have that same problem. It’s hard for me to learn to let go. I try to move forward in my life, but something stops me. Something holds me back from the progress I so dearly desire.

I frequently think about former friends and past situations I’ve been in. It’s to the point where I’m not just thinking about them, I’m also imagining those scenarios. I even listen to music and daydream about those moments. Those memories and times together mean a lot, bur I focus on them too much and neglect what’s going on right now.

I tried an experiment last week where I focused on making myself more present. My goal was to pay attention to everything that was currently going on. Since then, I’ve interacted with friends more, paid closer attention to song lyrics, focused on the taste of different foods, and it’s all paid dividends. I’m especially noticing a difference in my friendships and they’ve become stronger. For the first time in a long time, I feel alive. I can finally move on and live my life.

All too often, we find ourselves in situations where we’re stuck. It can seem impossible to escape, but there’s a solution for all of us – You have to leave the past behind you. Now, it’s easier said than done, but here are some things that helped me:

1. Focus – Let go us your stress. Breathe deeply and close your eyes. Now open them. Pay attention to the sounds you hear, what you see, and most importantly – feel what’s going on around you.

2. Appreciate – Think about everything you have. Think about your family, your home, your hobbies, and your friends. Take notice of how certain foods taste and how gifted you are. All those things have helped you become who you are today.

3. Repeat

In order to make the future, we must leave the past. Forget about what someone may have said about you, forget about your bad experiences.

C.S. Lewis said it best – “There are far better things ahead than any we leave behind.”

Leave a Reply

