My Novel Update #1

20130725-170831.jpg

Today I managed to finish the Chapter One of my novel, so I thought I would share with you some things I’ve learned. First of all, I have gained much more respect for authors, because writing a novel is hard. Sure, it’s just a bunch of consistency and words written, but to write those words requires a certain discipline, and lots of it. Yesterday I only wrote 308 words, despite 1k being my goal. But I’m not complaining about how hard it is, it’s just an observation, and it won’t stop me.

I was writing a scene where my protagonist had to infiltrate a castle and steal something valuable, and I learned a lot from that experience. There were times where I felt like things were a bit stale, so I had to inject a needle with action and conflict into the arm of my story. The characters have taken on a life of their own and the novel is practically writing itself.

Oh, did I mention that I’m writing faster than ever before? They say that writing is a muscle, and these last few days have trained my “muscle” so much that the act of writing is getting easier. I’ve written so much today that I had to take a break outside for a while.

The biggest thing is that I’ve finished a whole chapter. I’ve already started writing the second chapter and I’ll be writing more of it tonight. I would love to give you a few character names or even the title of the book, but nothing is concrete yet, so I don’t want to give you any false info. My main character’s name is set in stone though and will be released in a few days. I can’t wait to finish, but at the same time, I’m enjoying the fun of world building.

Well, I have to go and write some more so you can read it one day. As Tigger would say “T.T.F.N. Ta-Ta For Now!”

3 thoughts on “My Novel Update #1

  1. Something I have learned while writing my novels is that building the world is just as important as building the story and the characters. If your story is in a created world, don’t just focus on the aspects of the world that directly impact your story. Think about the map, the religion, customs, languages, races, etc… and how each aspect adds layers to your world and characters that will help define them all more deeply.

Leave a Reply

