My Novel Update #3

20130820-123459.jpg

40,000 words. The feeling is incredible, and what was once an idea, is about to become a reality. I am so close to finishing this novel. Judging by the way things are going, The first draft will probably be finished at around 60,000 words. I would’ve hoped for at least 70k, but I’ll focus on the final the word count during revisions. I’ve been on a consistent writing schedule for the past week and it has helped my production a ton. So now that I can finally see the top of the mountain, I have a bit of news…

Writing THE END will probably be an emotional experience for me, and that calls for a celebration. I’m writing the entire first draft by hand, so I’ll type it on the computer and print it out when it’s finished. After that, I’ll put away my novel for 14-30 days (likely 30), and during that time, I’ll do research on exactly how I should revise it. I’ll also start planning for my next novel. Then at the end of the “cooling period”, I’ll begin edits. During edits, I’ll insert a few more fantastical elements into the story, which should give it a boost of 10,000 – 20,000 words.

Once upon a time, I announced that the novel would be medieval fiction. Well, that’s about to change. When it’s completed, the novel will be a medieval fantasy. I’ve decided to change the genre because fantasy is what I’m comfortable with, because of that, writing purely medieval fiction feels forced at times. There are some magical things that happen and I’ve already inserted poisonous dwarves with razor sharp fangs and claws. Sounds fun, right?

Sometimes it’s difficult, but I’ve stayed steady so far. It’s time consuming writing by hand, but I’m not complaining, it’s quite fun actually. I feel like I’ve said it a million times already, but thank you. Thank you for the support and encouragement, I really mean it. I hope to share this novel with you as soon as possible. Speaking of that, I have yet to write a single word today. Au revoir!

2 thoughts on “My Novel Update #3

  1. Keep up the hard work! I recently finished a novel rough draft and am now on the first revision…it’s a very humbling process after getting over the “I’m on top of the world” feeling of completing the first draft. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

