Running Home By Julie Hutchings: Author Interview

20130825-133843.jpg

Hi everybody, today we’re going to be something a bit different. The lovely Julie Hutchings has invaded my blog and we’ll be doing an interview about her and her book. She has a new novel out called Running Home that I’d like you to check out. But first, let’s take a look at the woman behind the words. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you, Julie Hutchings.

About Running Home

DM: What makes Running Home something that only you could have written?

JH: The only reason I was able to bring Running Home to life was because I had my first baby. Lots of people have babies, but this baby…I knew I was pregnant when doctors told me I wasn’t. I was attached to him from the second I felt him, and missed him the second he was born. He gave me a depth of emotion I never had before, and made me realize what it would really be like to be without the person you need in life, truly need to exist. It’s a feeling I don’t know I’ve heard anyone else have.

DM: What do you love about Running Home?

JH: I love the setting. Backwoods New Hampshire in the thick of winter. Comforting and isolated all at once.

DM: If you gave one of your characters the opportunity to speak for themselves, what would they say?

JH: Wow. That’s an intense question. Nicholas speaks plenty, and Eliza has plenty to say but doesn’t always do it. But she’d tell us to trust what our instincts tell us, even when we know they have nothing good to say.

DM: Tell us an interesting fact about your novel that we never would know.

JH: The shop called On A Clear Day that Ellie works was actually a real shop in North Conway, owned by the mother of the woman who was the maid of honor in my wedding. Her name is Vivienne, just like Ellie’s boss, and she’s kind and elegant, just like Ellie’s boss. The Black Bear Café is a real place too, or was….it was closed down I saw this week upon visiting there, and I almost cried.

DM: It’s 2,000 years in the future and people have taken Running Home and now use it as their scripture for a new religion. How do you feel about that?

JH: Oh lord. Nothing I say should ever be taken that seriously, or seriously at all, but the Japanese death god thing could be a very cool religion. Again, “cool” is probably not what religion should be based on. Refer to first sentence.

The Woman Behind The Book

DM: Now that we have your book covered, let’s learn about the woman behind it…
What books have influenced your life and your writing?

JH: 1984. Best book ever written. Interview with the Vampire, Dracula, and yes, Twilight. None of this should be a surprise. Also Shiver by Maggie Steifvater, the beauty of the language. Simon R. Green’s work, the worlds he builds, he’s my favorite author of all time. And Poe, of course. The dark romance of it, it’s stuck with me since I read it as a kid.

DM: You’re an Urban Fantasy and Horror writer. Why did you choose to write in those genres?

JH: I don’t know if I chose them or they chose me. I’ve always had a love of the sinister, the grim, and the chilling. And then the idea of this extraordinary world right beneath the noses of ordinary people, and it rules their lives sometimes totally unbeknownst to them. There’s a dark beauty in what we can’t control and what scares us, and I love to explore them.

DM: How did you begin writing? Did you always intend to be published?

JH: The first thing I remember really writing creatively was this little book we had to make in 5th grade, and I took the thing so goddamn seriously it was a little ridiculous. But it felt so right, even then. And that was the first time someone told me I had talent. I was pretty awkward and talent-free until then, and actually still after that.

DM: What’s the best compliment you’ve received as an author?

JH: Hearing that the book gave someone that book hangover where they don’t want to read anything else. That one’s pretty top notch, and never makes me stop smiling. But honestly, there have been so many moments, and just to hear that people are happy reading it, absolutely floors me. It floors me every day.

DM: Do you have any writing rituals?

JH: Oh, the coffee. There must be coffee, of course. I definitely like to listen to music when I’m deep into it. Kings of Leon’s “Closer” and NIN’s “Together Now” were important to Running Home. I need pajamas. I can’t write in regular clothes all that well.

DM: What do you do when you’re not writing?

JH: Spend time with my boys, of course. My kids and my husband are almost an addiction for me.

Personal Questions

DM: Now, here are some personal questions:
What’s the most annoying thing people do while driving?

JH: Ohhh, ask Kristen this one! Step on and off the gas instead of holding their foot on the gas the way driving school shows you to do. Dammit.

DM: What do you fear more, the monsters in the closet, or the monsters under the bed?

JH: Ha! What the hell is wrong with me that the first thing I think is that they will fear me first!

DM: If you were reincarnated as something other than a human, what would you be?

JH: A Komodo dragon. Fo sho.

DM: What is the perfect Saturday to you, Julie Hutchings?

JH: A pumpkin spice latte, walking in sweats and a tanktop around Cape Cod or Brattleboro, Vermont, poking in and out of book stores with my husband. Then getting a huge pizza. With Peking ravioli on top. Is that a thing? It should be. Then going to the movies. The movies are my favorite thing to do. I love seeing a movie, even a bad one.

DM: What’s next for you as a writer?

JH: My overwhelming joy at having the days to write books while my oldest goes to school full time for the first time ever! I have a few projects in the works, the first of which is the sequel to Running Home that I will be working heavily on starting September 3rd. It’s been jostling around in my head for too long.

Running Home is available on Amazon for $3.99 http://www.amazon.com/Running-Home-ebook/dp/B00EEG42IM

Follow her on Twitter: @HutchingsJulie

You can find Julie Hutchings and her partner in crime Kristen Strassel at their website DeadlyEverAfter where they write about interesting subjects. Now hurry up and read it or a flock of pterodactyls will carry you into the skies, never to be seen again.

20130825-141549.jpg
Julie Hutchings

4 thoughts on “Running Home By Julie Hutchings: Author Interview

Leave a Reply

