My Novel Update #4: The End

20130902-090243.jpg

THE END.

Those are the words I just wrote a few minutes ago. I can’t believe it, I’m finished. I wrote a novel. My hands are still shaking as I type this, and all kinds of feelings are coursing through my veins. I’m done, it’s over – I’ve reached the top of the mountain.

I learned a lot from writing this novel and I hope to learn even more during revisions. The novel is handwritten in my notebook, so all I have to do is type it on my computer. I don’t know how long that will take, but it doesn’t matter. I’m done.

The first draft stands at 52,000 words and the word count will likely increase with more details and action in revisions. I’ll also add some fantastical elements, so I’m hoping it ends up between 60k-70k. I’m thinking of a definite title for the novel right now, and all the possibilities. I know I’m probably annoying by now, but this is my first ever novel, so I’ll say it again – I wrote a novel.

There’s still much work to do, but I’m on top of Mount Everest, enjoying the view. I’d like to thank everybody for being so supportive on this journey, you don’t know how much it means to me. I would thank you all individually, but I don’t want to accidentally leave anyone out. I could use just a bit more support though. I do not know how to edit something this large, so if you have an editing guide or tips to share, they will be much appreciated.

I could not have done any of this without you. Even when I doubted myself, you inspired me to keep writing. One person even called me an “inspiration”, and I feel honored. The biggest thing I’ve learned is that hard work pays off and consistency leads to results.

Once upon a time there was a boy who was foolish enough to try and write a novel… And he succeeded. His dreams came true, and he couldn’t wait to write many more in the future.

THE END

5 thoughts on “My Novel Update #4: The End

  1. Wow. Wow. Congratulations! (Applause) The congratulations seemed a bit late, though. But still, congratulations! Last I knew, you were typing away your very first three chapters of this novel! Congratulations! You work fast! 🙂 (I’m kind of ashamed that now I’m just rewriting my draft…) Congratulations times infinity! You must feel victorious and shaking. So… what did you do? Did you spill your coffee? Drop your spectacles? Bought a giant pizza and ate it yourself? Yell “The End! I reached the End!” and perform an “The End” parade on the streets? 🙂 Congratulations!

  2. Pingback: It’s My Birthday | Daevone's Writing

Leave a Reply

