Nominated For The Liebster Award

20140207-155015.jpg

What a surprise, I didn’t see this coming. I’m still fidgeting in my seat like an overly caffeinated toddler on his way to Disney World.

First off, I would like to thank Raven Pierce for nominating me for the Liebster Award, in this post, it’s a pleasure. You should really check out her website, she writes tons of posts about her writing journey and her discoveries along the way.

So let’s go over the rules of the Liebster Award:
1. Each nominee must link back the person who nominated them.
2. Answer the 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator.
3. Nominate 10 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 followers.
4. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
5. Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

Now that the rules and regulations have been addressed, let’s get started with the 10 questions:

1. What is your favourite writing quote?
“When you look at all great writing, it’s just poetry” – Ernest Hemingway

2. What music do you listen to when you write?
I listen to all kinds of music, there quite possibly isn’t a genre I don’t touch, except for country and metal. But my main writing fuel comes from songs by The Script and Imagine Dragons. Fun fact, Monster by Imagine Dragons is the (unofficial) theme song for my current WIP (work in progress).

3. What do you want to tell us about your writing journey?
Every day is a battle, a constant war against the evil forces of procrastination. The procrastination army is armed and dangerous with formidable opponents like YouTube, blogs, Google, and Twitter in their ranks. But even when it seems difficult, I’ve found ways to motivate myself everyday and write without fail. The answer? Quotes. I love ’em, I can’t possibly live without ’em. I have a notebook where I write tons of great quotes that lift my spirit and give me the ammunition to win the daily war against procrastination.

4. What do you think is your most outstanding attribute?
It would probably be my outlook. Ever since I can remember, I have always seen things differently from everyone else. I see beauty, horror, majesty, elegance, lunacy, and also eccentricity in some of the most typically mundane things. That outlook/worldview has shaped everything I am today.

5. Describe one of your characters you wrote about. What do you love about him/her/it? Well let’s refer to my novel (WIP) for this question. My main character’s name is Rory. He’s a blonde-haired teenager with a unique special ability (I’ll explain more in the future). He lives in fear because of what the village would do if they found out about his ability. The village has a reputation of executing any magical beings or monsters, so he tries to be (or at least seem) “normal”. He’s a reserved character who fears the villagers, yet harbors a deep-rooted hatred for them because of what they have done to his family. I love how conflicted he is at times, stuck between a tug-of-war of emotions, and I feel that’s how people are everyday. I’d love to tell you more, but everything is still a work in progress.

6. Who is the person who inspired you to write?
Walt Disney. After reading and watching Disney films/books, my mind unhinged to the endless possibilities and the inner majesties of our world. I’ve always dreamed of painting such a rich picture like he has done, and those Disney stories are timeless.

7. Why do you write?
I write because I don’t have a choice. The monsters under my bed and inside my closet threaten to devour me if I don’t. They’re a rowdy bunch of scalawags who will do whatever it takes get their point across. Other than that, I live on the page. The blank sheet is my home and in a way, my personal diary. After I’ve written, I feel a sense of completion like I’ve accomplished a mission. When I don’t, my day is about as flavorful as a mouthful of flour.

8. What food are you addicted on?
Any kinds of fruits, but mainly peaches. If I had to choose real food, then anything Italian from pastas to pizza. I will stomp into your all-you-can-eat buffet and eat your business into the ground.

9. What is your dream as a writer? (e.g. get published, self-publish, be published in a literary magazine, etc.)
I dream of one day being published and meeting the writers I admire. It might sound corny, but have these daydreams of drinking coffee or going to the movies with them. That would be wicked awesome.

10. What do you want to say to your beloved blog readers?
I have no idea what you are doing here or why on earth you keep coming back. I have to warn you – my mind the equivalent of an exploded toy store. Either way, I thank you for being here just the same. You’ve been here through my craziness and my journey, so muchas gracias. If you really want to know how much I appreciate your company, then look no further: A Message To Readers.

Now here are my nominations for the Liebster Award:

Tinika Ross: I love Tinika’s intelligence and worldview. Her posts are humorous, but she also writes about real life issues. Her talents are a joy to behold and she’ll have you saying “That’s so true, why didn’t I think of that?”
Jason Cantrell: Ah Jason, what’s to say about Jason that hasn’t been said before? Jason’s blog is littered with gut-bustingly hilarious posts, chock full of writing inspiration, and I always peek in, impatiently awaiting his next post.
Alyssa Hubbard: On Alyssa’s blog, you’ll find chronicles of her writing journey, along with heartwarming posts to go with her heartwarming writing voice.
Ashtyn Stann: Ashtyn has left her mark on this blog, so you probably know her from the last guest blog post. She’s an avid reader and book blogger, so whenever I’m looking for a new book to read, I always consult Ashtyn’s blog to see what she thinks. Her web design is lovely too, by the way.
Joseph Eastwood: Joseph’s blog has tons of information about his published stories and advice to writers. His writing style is clear, making his points understandable and memorable. I find myself filling up my bookmarks folder with his posts.

And now my questions to you:
1. If you could go back in time to any location, where would you go and why?
2. What is your favorite book of all time?
4. If you could be any mythical creature, what would you be?
5. If you could hang out with one fictional character for a day, who would it be?
6. Where do you get the inspiration for your blog posts?
7. Would you prefer a dog or a cat?
8. What was the last book you read?
9. What’s your biggest fear?
10. What is your most prized possession?

Once again, a big thank you to Raven for the nomination. Well guys, see you in the next blog post. *throws down a smoke bomb and disappears*

2 thoughts on “Nominated For The Liebster Award

  1. Wow. I always loved reading the answers to my questions. ๐Ÿ˜› Thanks for the kind words, by the way. (I practically forced myself to write this comment. I had an overwhelming urge to follow my habit to close this tab right after reading this. Guess I stood my ground. ๐Ÿ˜› )

    And thanks for sharing some new blogs. I often feel that I ain’t discovering a lot of blogs by myself.

    Good luck on your WIP and your writing! Currently, your character seems really interesting. I always liked tug-of-wars. They’re a blast to write. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

