How Do I Write? A Writing Process Blog Tour

20140512-105057.jpg

Hey guys. Before we get started, I want to thank Raytchul (@WreckingRaytch) for giving me the opportunity to talk about my writing process and how I do what I do. She’s currently writing an apocalyptic fantasy novel, so that should be a delicious read when it’s finished. She’s an immense friend who I’m grateful to have crossed paths with and somebody whose opinion I value with the utmost care. Check out her blog when you get a chance and read her insightful posts here: Wrecking Raytchul.

So without further ado, *cracks fingers* let’s get this party rocking.

What am I working on at the moment?

My current work in progress is titled The Sanguis Jewel. It’s a sort of medieval fantasy about a werewolf boy who must rescue his little sister after she’s put under the curse of an ancient jewel by a power hungry warlord. There are tons of magical creatures who occasionally appear in the novel like cat people, werewolves, an angel, and even a massive reptile who imposes havoc on an unsuspecting village. Throughout the story, the protagonist has to hide the fact that he and his sister are werewolves out of fear of what the people would do if they found out. The villagers have always had a deep hatred for mystical creatures and regularly execute them. It’s not uncommon to see the villagers burn and publicly brutalize a creature that steps foot in the village. The main character knows their ways very well. After all, they killed his mother. Even though the villagers murdered his mother, he needs their help so he can rescue his little sister before her soul is lost forever.
I’m still writing the second draft of the novel, which is undergoing a major rewrite from the first draft version. I’m not sure when it’ll be finished, but I’m working on it at every waking opportunity so it’s finished ASAP.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

This novel to me is unique because it deals with prejudice and discrimination in a different light than other novels would portray them. The harsh reality and social penalties of being different truly comes to power in this novel, and not to mention the consequences of mindless hatred.

Why do I write what I do?

The Fantasy genre has always been a home for me. I just love the idea of mystical things happening in a seemingly normal world, with possibilities lurking around every corner. Whenever those aspects come into play, you’ll always have an adventure on your hands. No ands, ifs, or buts about it.
This current novel is different from what I would normally write because it’s based in a medieval setting. I normally write Urban Fantasy, which is a fancy term for writing fantasy based in the modern day. As to why I write it, I mean come on. Who wouldn’t want to write about a mutant alligator lurking in the sewers of New York or a family of bloodthirsty vampires who moved in next door?

How does my writing process work?

I plan every single detail of my stories, like an architect constructs a blueprint. I must know what happens here and there, how things will go, and what a certain part of the novel will lead to. I have to know where I’ll place a tiny pinch of foreshadowing, and what page it’ll fall on. I know it may seem like a lot, but for me, it really isn’t.
Once upon a time I would just get a story idea, write a quick summary, and start writing away. And each and every time, it would result in a story sent to the novel graveyard. I had no direction or even a hint of what would come next, and that was a hazard to my writing. I just simply could not finish a thing if I didn’t plan everything beforehand. Sure, there are people who can finish novels without any sort of planning whatsoever. But I’m not one of them, and plotting is what works for me. As the saying goes “Different stokes for different folks.”
Now as far as the actual labor of writing is concerned, I make a goal of writing 2,000 words every day. I don’t stop until 2,000 newborn words are staring back at me, and then I’ll go and do something else like play video games, surf the web, or read a book. There are admittedly a few days that I don’t hit my 2k goal, but progress is progress nonetheless. I use a spreadsheet that shows the date, my word count goal, my word count achieved for a specific day, and the sum of everything put together.

I think I’ve done more than enough talking about myself, so I would like to elect the following writers to post about their writing process next week:

Tinika Ross: (@triffic_tinika) Tinika is a good friend and also knows how to craft a wickedly awesome story. Her blog is filled with delightful writing that’s witty, intelligent, and never fails to impress. You never know what she’ll write about next, but just know that it’ll be a great read. My bookmarks are becoming filled with her posts, it’s getting ridiculous.

Hiba Tahir: (@hhtahir) Hiba is a talented writer who already has a pretty successful story published on Wattpad. She’s kindhearted and the kind of person you’ll be glad you met. Her writing is elegant and brandishes a superb classical influence.

Quanisha McGruder: (@QHearts23) Quanisha is nothing less than captivating, to say the least. She strives to improve as both a person and a writer and her blog posts never disappoint. I expect great things from her in the future, and she’s sure to deliver with authority.

I hope I was able to share a bit of my writing process with you. I’ll have some more blog posts up and running during the week, including a post about recently stepping foot inside the worst restaurant mankind has ever witnessed. Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “How Do I Write? A Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: How This Girl Writes! A Writing Process Blog Tour | Loss For Words

  2. Pingback: How do I write? A Writing Process Blog Tour | Embrace the Madness

Leave a Reply

