What To Do When Your Motivation Has Dried Up

20140714-144158-52918498.jpg

I recently went through a rough patch with my writing. During the past month or so, I became lazy, disinterested, and flat out discouraged to write. But I didn’t know why. I’m sure we can all relate to that same feeling at one point or another in our lives. Maybe it wasn’t with writing. Maybe you’ve lost your passion, your drive and determination to keep going. If so, then strap on your seatbelt. This blog post is for you.

I don’t know what happened to my willpower to keep pushing forward. One day everything was fine. I was writing my usual 2,000 words a day, reading pages upon pages of fiction, and of course, blogging regularly. And then suddenly everything changed. My creativity took a turn for the worst and stopped dead in its tracks. But when you think about it, isn’t that how it always happens?

Sometimes our brains go from having a full tank of gas to running on “E” without warning. I began to feel lazy and uninterested. I felt like doing everything in the world except for what I love most, writing. I put aside my pen and paper and picked up an Xbox controller instead. I’m not the kind of person who’s insanely addicted to video games, but I turned into the monster I never imagined I would be. My fingers would start to itch and clench, longing to slip around a controller and mash the buttons.

Video games weren’t the only evil I faced. Music took a major hold of my life as well. I love listening to music, but this time I felt entranced by it, like nothing else mattered than a sweet melody and some well crafted lyrics.

Then soccer kicked in, no pun intended. I convinced myself I needed to train more often. “Who needs to write now?” I thought. “I can always start when I’m finished training.” And you know what? I never touched that paper. I would come back home exhausted and laid around watching funny animal videos on YouTube.

Sometimes there isn’t a concrete object or activity laying in our paths. Sometimes we just become lazy good-for-nothin’ slobs who would rather lounge around on the sofa, not a care in the world, letting time pass through our fingers like sifting a handful of sand at the beach.

I recently got some help.

I’m fortunate and grateful to have a tight support group around me. I’ve told friends about my recent problem and they’ve all been encouraging and sage-like with their advice. Because of them, this is the first blog post I’ve written in the past two months. Now I feel refreshed and ready to take on the world with my newfound motivation and passion for the writing life I love.

But what did I do to regain my love? What can we do when the well of motivation dries out, leaving the grasslands of our minds in a drought?

Remember that time waits for nobody.

Every day wasted is a day we’ll never get back. We all have a limited time span on this planet, and what better way to honor and respect that time span than by following our hearts and dreams? We all have a destiny to accomplish, and I know firsthand that it can be hard to overcome the demons plaguing our minds. We must know that we are all here for a reason and there is nothing that should ever get in our way.

Once the mindset is obtained, that’s only half of the battle. We must now take action. Once I reminded myself that I shouldn’t neglect my love, I had to actualize my plans and put everything in motion. I picked up a book and started reading again. I felt warm and fuzzy on the inside and regained a sense of belonging. The old feeling of wonder and mystery I always got returned once more and reminded me why I love literature.

I started writing this blog post, and my fingers buzzed around the keyboard like angry bees, stinging each letter with the aggressive embrace of long lost lovers. My heart fluttered like hummingbird wings and my lips curved into a smile. I can feel my word addiction coming back to me. I feel free and unchained, ready to unleash my grammatical wrath on an unsuspecting universe.

But what’s my point?

We all go through rough patches in our lives where it’s hard to persevere and strive for more. We just have to exorcise our demons and remember why we fight against the odds each and every day. When all else fails, remember that you have people around who love and care about you, people who would give an arm to see you succeed. Don’t be afraid to ask for advice if you’re in the dark. We’re all here to lend a helping hand when you need it.

I know how it feels. Just keep pushing forward and slay those demons. You will get through this, I know you will.

4 thoughts on “What To Do When Your Motivation Has Dried Up

Leave a Reply

