Running Away: An Interview With Julie Hutchings

IMG_0921-0.JPG

Hey, we’re going to do something just a tad different from the usual. Today, the lovely Julie Hutchings is here to tell us about her new novel Running Away which releases today. It’s a story about a girl who never truly felt she belonged in the world and her unexpected encounters with some vampires. But let’s make this clear, this is nothing like your stereotypical mish-mash vampire tale.  I interviewed Julie a year ago about her first novel in this series, Running Home, and I loved it so much that I had to interview her again for the sequel. Pop your popcorn, fasten your seatbelts, and keep your hands and legs in the vehicle at all times. Now without further ado, I give you my interview with Julie Hutchings:

RUNNING AWAY

Daevone: What can readers expect from Running Away?

Julie: Danger, betrayal, romance, and an Eliza that grows past a point I ever thought she could.

DM: What did you as a writer learn from writing this story?

JH: Oh, without a doubt that it is far easier for me to write sparsely then fill in where I need more than it is to overwrite and cut out a lot of words.

DM: What did you as a person learn from writing Running Away?

JH: That’s heavy, D. I learned that I trust a person more that explores and figures out what they want rather than the one who takes what’s given to them and never questions it.

DM: Talk to us a little about your main character Ellie. What would you say makes her so special?

JH: What I love about her is that she doesn’t try to fit in. She’s always felt she’s something special, that she’s been preparing for some big battle all her life, and even if it didn’t make sense when she just worked in a gift shop, she still knew. And while she had a little social awkwardness about her, people respected her, though she never made any attempts to get close to any of them. She knew it wasn’t for her.

DM: Where did you get the idea for these books?

JH: Oh, I’ll say it. I read TWILIGHT and no, I wasn’t one of the jerks who thought I can do better than that. I fell right into the book. This girl who lived this very ordinary life, but there was this extraordinary thing happening underneath it. I wanted that for adults. So I ran with it.

DM: What challenges did you face with bringing this story to life?

JH: There was a lot of material I wanted to use that went with the first draft of RUNNING HOME, and weaving that into the new direction I wanted to take the story was tough. A lot of words to sort through. Took twice as long as I expected and worth every second.

DM: Are there any new authors or books that have grabbed your interest?

JH: I really loved Ally Condie’s MATCHED series. And Catherynne Valente’s FAIRYLAND series is so intoxicatingly beautiful, with the strongest main character I’ve read in years….and the kid is TWELVE!

DM: Do you have anything specific you would like to say to your readers?

JH: Dear God, thank you! Thanks for getting RUNNING HOME, feeling those characters as much as you did. I think there’s a few of you out there that don’t belong here either, and I hope you find your places too.

DM: How do you think you’ve evolved as a creative person?

JH: I’m proud of it. I feel like I’m doing something, where a year or two ago I felt like it was cute, and wasn’t work. I’ve always known that you can say the slightest thing that will stick with certain people for years and years, follow them through their lives, and yet I never connected that I could do the same thing in my novels. Knowing that now, I treat my work with respect, and I’m not shy about it anymore like I once was.

DM: What’s the easiest thing about writing?

JH: The sitting down, and the sweatpants.

DM: What would you say is the hardest thing about writing?

JH: The getting up. No, no, it’s the self-doubt. That feeling a lot of writers get every once in a while or hourly that says to you this doesn’t mean crap. Go find a waitressing job, you mean nothing here.

DM: I think we can all agree that as writers, we love to see comments or reviews about our stories. What’s the first thought that pops into your head when you see a brand spanking new review?

JH: Oh, the horror. Where’s the bathroom? Even if I know it’s going to be a solid review, it’s terrifying. Keeps me on my toes.

DM: What’s your all time favorite movie and why?

JH: While Guardians of the Galaxy is making a hot run for it, because GOD do I love that movie, I for now I am going with Ferris Bueller’s Day Off because it defined so much of my life.

DM: What do you do to relax during your day?

JH: Ha! Not much! But I love a car ride, I love to play Cupcake Mania for 10 minutes at a time, and I love playing with my little lizard, Modo, and of course my boys. They’re hilarious.

And that’s all for our interview. Once again, I would like to give a big thank you to Julie for stopping by and taking the time to answer those questions. Reading her first novel Running Home is a wonderful experience. Everything from the lively scenes to the suspenseful chapters were captivating and entertaining. Knowing her capabilities as an author, the sequel Running Away is even better. But don’t just take my word for it, feast your eyes on the epic awesome sauce down below…

 


 

IMG_0921-0

Running Away (The Shinigami Series, #2)

New Adult Paranormal Romance

Release date: 9/26/14 by Books of the Dead Press
Running Away (book #2) on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23263587-running-away
Running Home (book #1) on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17977192-running-home

 

Running Away book blurb:
Eliza Morgan is desperate to escape the horrors of her mortal life and understand why death follows her, leaving only one man, Nicholas French, in its wake. He’s the one she loves, the one she resents, and the one fated to make her legendary among the Shinigami– an ancient order of vampires with a “heroic” duty to kill. He’s also decaying before her eyes, and it’s her fault.

On the ghostlike mountaintop in Japan that the vampires consider home, Eliza will be guided by the all-powerful Master for her transition to Shinigami death god. When Eliza discovers that sacrificing her destiny will save Nicholas, she’s not afraid to defy fate and make it so—even when Nicholas’s salvation kills her slowly with torturous, puzzle-piece visions that beg her to solve them. Both Nicholas and his beloved Master fight her on veering from the path to immortality, but Eliza won’t be talked out of her plan, even if it drives the wedge between Nicholas and her deeper.

Allying with the fiery rebel, Kieran, who does what he wants and encourages her to do the same, and a mysterious deity that only she can see, Eliza must forge her own path through a maze of ancient traditions and rivalries, shameful secrets and dark betrayals to take back the choices denied her and the Shinigami who see her as their savior. To uncover the truth and save her loved ones, Eliza will stop at nothing, including war with fate itself.

 

EXCERPTS

The pain drizzled away in that orange cinnamon sugar rush he brought with him, and I was his, never wanted to be anything again except his.

“Only death and fire live here. Time to burn it all down.”

 

running

 

running 2

 

IMG_0922-0.JPG

About the Author Julie Hutchings:
Julie’s debut novel, Running Home, giving you vampires with a Japanese mythology pants kicking is available through Books of the Dead Press. Julie revels in all things Buffy, has a sick need for exotic reptiles, and drinks more coffee than Juan Valdez and his donkey combined, if that donkey is allowed to drink coffee. Julie’s a black belt with an almost inappropriate love for martial arts. And pizza. And Rob Zombie. Julie lives in Plymouth, MA, constantly awaiting thunderstorms with her wildly supportive husband and two magnificent boys.

Julie on Twitter
Julie’s Blog
Julie on Facebook
Julie on Goodreads

Other books by Julie:

20130825-133843.jpg

Running Home on Goodreads

Running Home on Amazon

Leave a Reply

